Happy times, tears, letting go

Hello. Another month has passed and I have to write a blog post again. This time I’ve decided to write to you about what I’ve been up to in the last month and what great people I’ve met

We had the opportunity to go to the reading marathon at the library earlier this month. Everyone chose a small section they would like to read and volunteers translated most of what they wanted to read into their own language. I had an easy job in this aspect, as I didn’t have to translate my text into another language. We spent a little more time in the library than we should have, but it was not really that frustrating, it reminded me of my school days when we used to go to these events with the school every year.

In the meantime, we managed to go to Candice’s intercultural evening, where we learned a lot about France and the region where she lives. She was very skillful and her food was delicious, which she prepared for all the participants

However, for the last month, we have been mostly with the children. It’s a good feeling to meet different children every day and bring them joy. Yes, sometimes it is not easy to work with them and to give them a lot, but really, who is easy to give something important to? We are not easy cases either, adults… Sometimes we can behave like children, which is sometimes good and necessary, but sometimes not the best. The best thing for me in this story is that we are not only giving, not only giving happiness but also receiving. We get gratitude and love from them that you can never imagine. No one cares for us like they do. They always know when something is wrong, they always know when something is just perfect. I’m just proud of them for who they are and sometimes I wish I could learn a lot from them. I think I have a few more months to learn, and I’m definitely not going to forget about them when we’re done with our project.

And of course, let’s not forget our dear friends who visited us. First I will tell you about a visit. Two of our fellow ESC volunteers came to visit us. So we were able to spend a few days together, and on two evenings we made a campfire together and had a good chat. The second thing I want to tell you about is our new fellow volunteers. In the meantime, we got a couple of new volunteers who we had quite a good chat with (I say had because some of them went home after 2 weeks), and we still talk to this day. Alexis was everyone’s “grandmother” and a very loving woman. We got so much from her in the few days she was with us. It was with great sadness that we had to say goodbye to her, but I hope we will have the opportunity to meet again, and if not, we will definitely keep in touch in some form. Gus, who spends more time with us than Alexis, is a great guy. It’s true that sometimes he talks too fast and you can’t understand what he’s saying, but he’s got a great spirit too and we have a good time, spending time together. And I left another important meeting for the end. This month Rebecca’s sending organization visited us and we spent a few days with them. Like all the other meetings, this was very much appreciated, as I don’t speak much Italian yet, but I was able to use my knowledge a little and I was lucky enough to spend a full day with them in Brasov and at the Peleș Castle. I was very surprised when I was invited because it was Rebecca who they visited. And I thank them for all the words of appreciation they gave me, and also for the opportunity to help me go to Italy and spend 2 months there, volunteering.

And last but not least, I would like to thank Greta for the few months we have spent together, as she is leaving us and beginning her departure. Thank you Greta for all the unforgettable hockey games, conversations, and every minute we spent together. I’m sure I won’t forget you either.

-Nóra-

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started